The faculty board of the Faculty of Spatial Sciences deals with the daily course of events of the organization and is also responsible for research and education. The board is responsible for policies, makes the study and research programs and maintains contact with all organizational organs of the University of Groningen. The board guards the quality of research and education and stimulates employees to come up with new ideas. The board is accountable to the ‘College van Bestuur’ of the University of Groningen.

Each year the faculty council names a student assessor, which fulfills an advisory role in the faculty board. The student assessor represents all students in the faculty and stands up for their best interests. The tasks of the student assessor are to attend the weekly board meetings, meetings with other student assessors and the university council. The student assessor is also the contact for all faculty organizations, such as Ibn Battuta.

The current members of the faculty board are:

  • Johan Woltjer (Dean)
  • Arjan van den Assem (Vice-Dean)
  • Mirjam Wempe (Secretary)
  • Nienke Bastiaans (Managing Director)
  • Julia van Wijk (Student Assessor). 

You can find more information about the faculty on the website. For further questions, you can contact the Study Advisors and the Student Support Desk

Skyline Groningen